Skip to content

Top 12 Places of 2012

December 28, 2012

2012 was a year crammed full of activity. I’ve been lots of places and done many things. In thanksgiving for all the good times, here is my list of the top twelve places I’ve enjoyed so much this year. I’ve listed them in alphabetical order so as not to upset any of these fine organizations and establishments.

Allgood Hall

Allgood HallMy office at Augusta State University and most of the classrooms that I teach in  are located in Allgood Hall. I enjoy teaching communication and I am thankful to the Lord for my job. I love my students and I love the faculty and staff at ASU. The building itself is quite attractive. My office furniture is beautiful, my Jaguar and Pittsburgh sports teams décor is fun, and my toys are the best on campus. The classrooms have about $30,000 of technology in them which, believe it or not, I know how to use. There is also a food court in the atrium. Come on over and visit. You are always welcome.

Augusta Christian Schools

My oldeAugusta Christianst daughter, Maggie, is a senior at Augusta Christian High School which is located on Baston Road in Martinez. My son, Andrew, who is home schooled participates in the Fine Arts program, and my husband, John, is a tutor for a home bound student. The faculty, staff, students, and parents at ACS are wonderful people who love each other and work to honor God as they provide an excellent education. This year I was able to see my daughter receive several academic awards (She is a straight A student.), and my son sing in several choral performances and perform in Beauty and the Beast. I am most appreciative of all that school has done for my family. May God continue to bless ACS.

Beaver FallsMy Dad's house in Beaver Falls

I was born and raised in Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, and unfortunately, this year I was not able to travel home. Though I didn’t get there, that city will always be one of my favorite places. I miss my family and pray that 2013 will give me opportunity to return for a visit or two.

BiLo

My BiLo grocery store, on the corner of Belair and Columbia Roads, is within waBilolking distance of my house. It was renovated and redecorated a couple of months ago and it looks really nice. The management and staff practice good customer service and the produce department is great. Of course I feed my family from my purchases, but the bonus is the fuel perks. With a family of six, you can rack up a lot of free gas. My best fill up was when I paid only $26.00 for $50.00 worth of gas. I’m carrying around 55 cents off a gallon on my bonus card right now. You just can’t beat that deal. Thank you, BiLo!

Bojangles

Don’t judge me! A neBojanglesw Bojangles moved onto Belair Road on my way to Interstate I-20. I had never really eaten there before, and I’m not exactly a fried chicken fan, but I love those Cajun Filet Biscuits. I have to force myself not to stop every time I drive by. I’ve eaten more than a few this year. Mmm mmm good.

Christenberry FieldhouseChristenberry Fieldhouse

Christenberry Fieldhouse on Wrightsboro Road is the home of the Augusta State University Basketball and Volleyball teams. I am a Jaguars fan. That place has given me hours of sports viewing fun with family and friends. The athletes at Augusta State are some of the nicest young people you’ll know and they won an academic excellence award from the Peach Belt Conference, so they’re smart, too. Go Jags!

Home

The Trigg HomeEven though it’s messy and noisy, my home is an all-time favorite place. It houses the people I love most in the world. Our doors are always open to guests. Stop by and have a bite to eat and watch a movie with us or play a game. If you need to relax or to get away from the craziness of the world let us be your haven. I cannot guarantee any snow on the roof, but there will be warmth inside. There’s no place like home.

Jaguar Softball FieldJaguar Field

I am the faculty Huddle-Up partner for the Augusta State University Softball Team. What a great group of talented and intelligent young women. And their coach, Melissa Mullins, is simply the best. The sun isn’t always shining there, but you’ll find a double header every time and some great plays on the diamond. The season will be upon us soon. Come on over to the field at the Christenberry complex on Wrightsboro Road. Take me out to the ballgame!

La Bonbonniere

La BonbonniereYou’ll never crave mass-produced chocolate again once you’ve tasted the handmade fine Belgian chocolate from the La Bonbonniere chocolatiers, located on the corner of Fury’s Ferry and Riverwatch Parkway. The chocolate makes a wonderful gift, and the store is a great place to take out-of-town visitors. The ladies behind the counter have fabulous customer service and you can schedule tours of the kitchen or attend a chocolate making class. If you have never been, treat yourself to this deliciousness. Your taste buds will thank you. My favorites are the ganache and the amaretto.

Martinez Church of Christ

Martinez Church of ChristThe Martinez Church of Christ is housed at the corner of Belair and Oakley Pirkle Roads. I’ve worshiped with this group of Christians for almost 20 years, and you won’t find a more loving, serving bunch anywhere. My family has been blessed again and again by the generosity and warmth of these people. We assemble Sunday mornings, Sunday evenings, and Wednesday nights. Then we are in and out of each other’s homes throughout the week. If you are looking for a church home where you can grow closer to the Lord, learn His word, and fellowship with His children, please join us.

Panera Bread

Panera BreadOn the second Saturday of each month, you will find my daughter, Maggie, and me gathered with the most wonderful group of knitters, crocheters, and loomers on the planet at the Panera Bread on Robert C. Daniel Parkway in Augusta. We call ourselves GRITS ‘n’ GRINS (Girls Raised In The South and Girls Raised In Northern States) and we make handmade items for charity. This year we made over two thousand items for The Salvation Army, SafeHomes of Augusta, International Seafarers, MCG Cancer Support Group, and more. You’ll GROW (Girls Raised Out West) to love these wonderful women as much as I do and have a great time while doing worthwhile work. If you already do needlework or would like to learn, come on over and join our cause. You’ll find wonderful management and great customer service at Panera, and they encourage us in our work.

The Big MoThe Big Mo

There aren’t many drive-in movie theaters left, but The Big Mo in Moneta, South Carolina is one of the best. My family, our visiting relatives, and our friends from church made several trips to the Big Mo this past summer. I saw The Avengers, The Dark Knight Rises, Brave, and The Amazing Spider-Man. The price is extremely reasonable (less than one ticket at the indoor theater) and you get to see two movies each time. Maybe I’ll see you there in 2013.

Though I can’t say this next place is one of my favorite, I must give an Honorable Mention to:

University Hospital

University HospitalMy mother-in-law, Vernell Trigg, passed away on December 20th and we spent a good bit of time with her at University Hospital throughout this year. I am thankful for the good doctors, nurses, and staff at the hospital who helped us make Mom’s last year on this earth as comfortable as possible. No disrespect intended, but I hope we don’t need to enter those revolving doors at all this coming year unless it is to visit a new baby.

Well, that’s my Top 12 in 2012. I wonder what new fun place will surface next year so that I can have a Top 13 in 2013?

Kathleen M. Trigg

From → Uncategorized

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top 12 Places of 2012 « CommPosts

Leave a Reply

