Skip to content

Timely

February 23, 2012

When we’ve been there ten thousand years,
Bright shining as the sun;
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise
Then when we first begun.
– John Newton –
from the hymn, Amazing Grace

Time is behaving very weirdly with me these days. Some things that happened a year ago seem like they happened last week, and sometimes things that happened last month seem like they happened last year. I understand that the older we get time seems to fly by faster. I also know intellectually that time proceeds at the same pace as it has since God designed it. However, when you are five years old, a year seems like an eternity because it is twenty percent of your entire life. I will turn fifty this year and one year to me is just two percent of my life. It’s a perspective thing.

Numerically I can make sense of time seeming to go faster as we get older. It’s the fact that it can also seem to drag by at the same time that is just odd. Is it because I try to cram so much life into every day that what took place two weeks ago seems like six months ago because I live at such a crazy pace? Well, I just can’t really explain it. Time is unpredictable for me and it isn’t always on my side.

Lord, please help me to live one day at a time (Matthew 6:34). Help me to use my time wisely (Colossians 4:5) while I am here on the earth. Help me to trust you all the time (Psalm 62:8) no matter how slowly or rapidly it seems to move in my life. Help me to regularly set aside time now, by myself as well as with others to give You the praise you deserve (Psalm 34:1) . . .

Till in heaven we take our place,
Till we cast our crowns before Thee,
Lost in wonder, love and praise.
– Charles Wesley –
from the hymn, Love Divine

From → Hymns Help

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

