Skip to content

Holy Habits

February 23, 2012

Be our strength in hours of weakness,
In our wanderings be our guide;
– Love M. Willis –
from the hymn, Father, Hear the Prayer We Offer 

I left my house to visit a friend today and I was halfway to somewhere else before I realized I was going in the wrong direction. I’m afraid to admit how often my car seems to drive itself when I am behind the wheel. If I am not entirely focused on the present task, my body will habitually drive straight for the destination I travel to most often, even if I am not supposed to be going there.

Automatically following a regular routine isn’t the best navigator in an automobile, but in our spiritual life we can benefit from developing and maintaining godly habits. At a very young age, my parents taught me to say thank you, and that expression of gratitude comes so naturally that I even say “thank you” to my vehicle when it beeps to tell me I’ve left the keys in the ignition. From the time I was in my mother’s womb, I have assembled to worship the Lord to begin every new week. Giving thanks before meals and saying my prayers before sleep are also habits formed in childhood.

What habits can I begin to develop for the Lord  today that will carry me through middle age and into my senior years so that I may be found faithful in the end? Lord, help me to have a servant’s heart so that I may without even thinking, live your word.

Thy word is everlasting truth;
How pure is every page!
That holy book shall guide our youth,
And well support our age.
– Isaac Watts –
from the hymn, How Shall the Young Secure Their Hearts?

 

From → Hymns Help

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

