Skip to content

God Bless America

February 23, 2012

The kingdoms of earth pass away one by one,
But the kingdom of heaven remains;
It is built on a rock and the Lord is its King,
And forever and ever He reigns.
– R.R. Trickett –
from the hymn, The Kingdoms of Earth Pass Away

The United States was born 234 years ago today. Happy Birthday, America! Amidst the cookouts and the patriotic music and the fireworks, I am thankful that the Lord decided to allow me to live in the land of the free and the home of the brave. I am mindful of the men and women who have fought and died to preserve that freedom.

I am also reminded that though I am a citizen of the United States of America on earth, heaven is really my home. And the freedoms of speech, the press, and religion which we Americans hold so dear, diminish when compared to the freedom from sin which cost Jesus His perfect, earthly life and purchased salvation for me– for eternity.

Were the whole realm of nature mine,
That were a present far too small;
Love so amazing, so divine,
Demands my soul, my life, my all.
– Isaac Watts, 1707 –
from the hymn, When I Survey the Wondrous Cross

From → Hymns Help

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

