Skip to content

Divine Display

February 23, 2012

Lord, how Thy wonders are displayed,
Where’er I turn my eye:
If I survey the ground I tread,
Or gaze upon the sky!
– Isaac Watts, 1715 –
from the hymn, I Sing the Mighty Power of God

Last week, it rained while the sun was shining. A rainbow stretched from one side of the sky to the other and it was so vivid I actually saw every distinct color, even the purple/indigo. I was amazed. I could not stop looking at it.

My cousin, Sue, takes the most beautiful photos of nature. She posts flowers and moonlight and glistening lakes on her facebook page. She has a wonderful perspective on the most hidden away intricacies of God’s handiwork. Her images reveal the artistry of our Creator. I enjoy seeing the world through her camera lens.

I got caught in a storm driving home from work a few days ago. It was frighteningly awesome. The rain was flying sideways– driving flags, traffic lights, and hanging signs horizontal. The thunder was explosive and the lightening split the air like a twenty-one gun salute. I pulled off to the side of the road until tree branches started pelting the car. I moved on, even though I had trouble seeing, because I didn’t want any limbs to fall on my van. Eventually I pulled into a parking lot of a grocery store and watched the rain create a rushing river alongside the cars. It was a little unnerving, but I tried to focus on the storm as a display of just some of God’s power. The One who wields that power is watching over His loved ones day and night.

Be still my soul;
the waves and winds still know
His voice who ruled them
while He dwelt below.
– Katharina von Schlegel –
from the hymn, Be Still My Soul

 

 

From → Hymns Help

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

